Home » How to Deactivate Instagram Account in Easy Steps

How to Deactivate Instagram Account in Easy Steps

While Instagram is a fantastic platform, you can deactivate your Instagram account if you plan to take a break from social media. Deleting your Instagram account temporarily or permanently is SIMPLE!

If you’ve been looking for easy ways of how to delete Instagram account, you’ve landed on the right guide. Ready? Let’s get started.

How to Deactivate Instagram Account Temporarily

We’ll break down the steps to delete your Instagram account on multiple devices. Regardless of your device, you’ll be able to delete your Instagram account easily.

1. How to Deactivate Instagram Account on Desktop

Here are the steps you need to follow if you want to deactivate Instagram account on desktop:

  • Go to Instagram.
  • Log into your account by entering your username and password.
  • Open web browser and visit this link “https://www.instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/”.
  • You’ll see a page that looks like this:
Delete Instagram Account on Desktop
  • Choose an option from the dropdown that states why you want to delete the account. 
  • Confirm deletion.

That’s it. You’ve now learned how to deactivate Instagram account permanently. However, you’ll be able to sign up again to Instagram with the same username and information. If someone else has taken the username, then you’ll have to set up new credentials.

2. How to Delete an Instagram Account on Android

If you’re using a mobile device and want to delete your Instagram account on Android mobile, here are the steps you’ll need to follow:

  • Open your Instagram profile.
  • Click on the three horizontal lines on the top right and choose the ‘settings’ options. 
  • Go to ‘Accounts Centre’ and click on ‘Personal Details’.
  • Go to ‘Account Ownership and Control’ settings and then click ‘Deactivation or Deletion’.
  • If you have multiple accounts, choose the one you want to delete.
  • Select ‘Delete account’ and then tap on ‘Continue’.

Once you follow these steps, your Instagram account will be deleted. However, it might take 90 days to complete the account deletion process. 

3. How to Deactivate Instagram Account Permanently on iOS

If you’re on an iOS device, then here are the steps you can follow to delete your Instagram account. Just follow the below-mentioned steps:

  • Go to your Instagram profile. 
  • Open the sandwich menu on your profile’s top-right corner and go to ‘Settings’.
  • Go to ‘Account’, then select ‘Delete Account’ at the bottom. 
  • Select a reason from the list ‘why do you want to delete account name’. 
  • Once you hit enter, enter your password.
  • Tap on ‘Delete’ and then choose ‘OK’ to confirm. 

Steps to Take Data Backup of Your Instagram Account Before Deleting

If you’ve decided to get rid of your Instagram account, you will lose all your data. You don’t have to lose all your data if you take a backup of your Instagram account. 

With few simple steps, you can create a copy of your Instagram data. 

1. Create a Backup of Your Data on Instagram

Here’s how you can create a backup of your data on Instagram:

  • Click on the sandwich menu at the bottom left. Then, go to the ‘Your Activity’ tab.
  • Tap the ‘Download Your Information’ option. 
  • Enter the email address where you want to receive a copy of your data. 
  • Choose the file format you want to receive your data in. The available options include – HTML or JSON.
  • Enter your Password and then go to ‘Request Download’.
  • Once you’ve requested your data, you’ll receive an email with the subject ‘Your Instagram Data’. This link will contain the data you can download anytime. 

2. Create a Backup Using iOS or Android Device

For an iOS or an Android device, here are the steps to create a backup:

  • Visit your profile by tapping on your profile picture. 
  • Tap the ‘sandwich’ menu bar at the top right corner of your profile. Go to the ‘Your Activity’ option.
  • Below is the ‘Information You Have Shared With Instagram’. Tap the option to download.
  • ‘Next’.
  • Now enter your Password and then click on the option ‘Request Download’.
  • Once you’ve requested your data, you’ll receive an email with the subject ‘Your Instagram Data’. This link will contain the data you can download anytime.

How to Reactivate Your Instagram Account?

Let’s say you want to go back to your Instagram account, here’s how you can reactivate your Instagram account. 

Instagram offers a period of 30 days to retrieve your account from the day you’ve deleted the account. In the meantime, you can go back, enter your login details, and after login click on the option ‘Keep Account’ in order to reactivate your Instagram account. 

But after on the 30th day, your account will be automatically deleted. In the meantime, you can go back, enter your login credentials, and select the option to ‘Keep Account’ to get it back. 

However, on the 30 day, your account will completely disappear, and there will be no way to restore it. All you’ll have to do it is create a new one. 

Final Take

That’s it. That’s all you need to know about how to deactivate Instagram account. Deleting your Instagram account can be a good way to take a break from social media

Before you delete your Instagram account, make sure to weigh all the pros and cons of doing so, as it will be a one-time decision. If you don’t reactivate your account in time, you may end up losing it forever.

Back to top