Home » How to Deactivate or Delete Your Facebook Account?

How to Deactivate or Delete Your Facebook Account?

Facebook, one of the most used social media platform in the world can be a overwhelming at first. If you’re wary about sharing too much personal data publicly, or if you don’t want Facebook tracking you, you may want a way out. 

In this guide, we’ll walk you through the entire process of how to deactivate Facebook account.

So, without wasting any time, let’s get started. 

Deactivating Your Facebook Account

Whether you want to learn “how do I deactivate  my Facebook account” or if you just want to take a break, this guide can help you out. 

Before we start, keep in mind that deleting your Facebook account means your account will be lost forever, while deactivating your Facebook your account means it will be on a temporary hold.

How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account From a Browser?

The best way to deactivate a Facebook page or put your account on a hold is by logging into Facebook and going to the privacy settings.

Once you’re in the Privacy Settings, click the first option. There will be a button “Deactivate account”, tap on it. Once you do, Facebook will ask you to re-enter your password before comfirming the temporary deactivation. Once deactivation is completed, you can reactivate your Facebook account whenever you want to. 

Another way  you can deactivate your Facebook account on your computer or browser is to follow the steps mentioned below:

  • Sign into Facebook. 
  • Click your Profile Picture in the top-right corner and click on Settings & Privacy.
  • Go to Settings.
  • Click on Privacy in the left panel, then click Your Facebook information. 
  • Scroll to the last option and click Deactivation and deletion. 
  • Confirming your choice, then click Continue to account deactivation.
  • Re-enter your Facebook password and click on Continue to confirm the deactivation process. 

Deleting Your Facebook Account

To get rid of advertisers tracking your every movement online, you can delete your Facebook account permanently. If you don’t like the idea of being tracked online, or don’t want to risk being caught up in data breach, deleting your Facebook account can help. 

Whether you want to delete your Facebook account permanently, or just want to tighten your cybersecurity, follow these steps:

Deleting Your Facebook Account Using a Browser

Deleting your Facebook account on a computer is same as deactivating a Facebook account. The only difference is the final step, where you click on permanently delete option instead of deactivating it.

Here are the steps on how to delete Facebook account on a browser on a computer:

  • Open Facebook and log in.
  • Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner, then go to Settings & privacy.
  • Click on Settings > Privacy > Your Facebook Information.
  • Click on Deactivation and deletion.
  • Confirm by selecting Delete account. 
  • Click on Continue to account deletion and re-enter your password.

These are the steps you need to follow to delete a Facebook account on a browser on a PC or Mac. But, keep in mind, you won’t be able to log in to other websites using Facebook after your delete your account. 

Deleting Facebook Account on iPhone

If you want to delete your Facebook account on iPhone, here are the steps you need to follow:

  • Open Facebook app on your iPhone.
  • Click on the Sandwich menu (three lines) and then select Settings & Privacy.
  • Click on Settings > Access and Control.
  • Select Deactivation and deletion and choose Delete account. Re-enter your password if prompted.

Deleting Your Facebook Account on Android

Here are the easy steps to delete your Facebook account on Android app:

  • Open Facebook app on your iPhone.
  • Click on the Sandwich menu (three lines) and then select Settings & Privacy.
  • Click on Settings > Access and Control.
  • Select Deactivation and deletion and choose Delete account. Re-enter your password if prompted.

Difference Between Deactivating and Deleting a Facebook Account

The difference between both these options is a simple one. Deactivating your account means removing it temporarily, deleting on the other hand means you remove your account permanently. If you delete your Facebook account, all your date is cleaned and can’t be restored. 

If you want a break from social media, then deleting your Facebook account is the way to go. 

Pros of Deactivating Your Facebook AccountPros of Deleting Your Facebook Account
You can still use Facebook Messenger.You don’t have to worry about your data getting deleted.
You can reactivate your Facebook account without losing your data.You don’t have to worry about whether Facebook is listening to your private conversations.
It’s a temproary way to hide all your photos, friends, and other data.You will have more control over your personal data.
All data tied to your Facebook account will also be deleted.
Cons of Deactivating Your Facebook AccountCons of Deleting Your Facebook Account
Your personal data won’t be deleted.You can’t change your mind. To use Facebook again, you’ll have to create a new profile.
You won’t be able to use Oculus devices unless you reactivate your account. You may end up losing precious photos and videos if you don’t take backup of them.
Once you reactivate your account, your data will be available for everyone.

Can You Reactivate Facebook?

If you deactivate your Facebook account, just log back in to reactivate your Facebook account. You can reactivate your Facebook account after deactivation by using Facebook to login to another website. 

You can also recover your deleted accounts, but only of 30 days after you delete the account. If you don’t reactivate your deleted Facebook account within 30 days, you’ll permanently lose all your Facebook data.

Back to top